Netflix

Netflix tests a new feature that detects and blocks shared accounts

Netflix is ​​preparing to take action against users who share passwords. Yes, those who share their Netflix accounts with family, friends and acquaintances.

When it detects that an account is being used by someone other than its owner, a dynamic check will be activated automatically.

Netflix tests a feature that prevents the exchange of passwords

Netflix plans to implement a security measure that will be activated automatically when it detects that a shared password is being used. When this happens, Netflix will ask the user to enter a security code that will be sent by mobile text message or to an email address.

The user will have a limited time to register this code and verify that it is their account. And if you don’t, then you won’t be able to play content on Netflix anymore. In that case, I would suggest that the user register and create their own account, along with the option of a free trial.

The idea is that this measure prevents unauthorized people from entering the accounts. Either because the same account is shared between different users or because someone has fraudulently seized a Netflix account.

Of course, this measure does not apply to the family group that lives in the same house, as established in the Netflix policies:

The Netflix service and all content viewed on it are for personal, non-commercial use only and should not be shared with people other than members of your household.

At the moment, it appears that this Netflix security feature is in testing and only a few users have noticed this dynamic when using a borrowed login. It remains to be seen if Netflix decides to implement it for all users in future updates, or if it remains on the way as other experimental functions.