Tinder

Tinder will bring Photo Verification and Videochat to Spain

Dating apps have gained traction in the midst of severe confinement, serving as a safe way to meet new people without leaving home, something they know all too well from Tinder, the reference dating app.

And the arrival of the so-called new normality, from Tinder they want to offer more security to their users when connecting with their matches, so that throughout this summer, they will bring two new features to Spain. It is about Photo Verification, to verify the authenticity of user profiles, and the Videochat function, which will arrive in Spain and other selected countries in the testing phase.

As we say, the Photo verification is a new feature coming to Spain to allow users to verify the authenticity of their profiles facing the rest of the users of the platform.

The company points out that this feature is powered by human-assisted Artificial Intelligence, in charge of comparing a series of selfies in real time with the images that users have posted on their profiles.

According to Tinder, users must open the application and click on their profile icon, touch the gray name / age mark, select the option Verify your profile, copy the pose indicated through a selfie, confirm the pose and press Submit for Review. Then I will have to copy a new pose in a new selfie, confirm and send for review. Those verified profiles will be accompanied by a blue tick, and the verification process takes a few minutes to complete.

And also this summer, in Test phase in selected markets, including Spain, get the Videochat function, although the company makes it clear that it will be something different from the usual video calling experiences.

In this sense, Tinder points out that Videochats will be held mutually agreed by both partiesIn this function, without either party being forced to use this function, both have to activate the video icon to start a video conversation.

If one of the parties activates it and the other party does not, the latter will not be sent a notification of any kind. And if you don’t want to use the function, there is always the possibility of deactivating it.

At the end of the video call, Tinder will ask users how they have been doing, also offering the ability to send reports to the Tinder team if necessary.